Release Day Teasers and Book Review: Lament of the Fallen by Andy Peloquin

Launch Day !

Lament of the Fallen – Last of the Bucelarii Book 2 by Andy Peloquin.

free-scroll-clipart-MTLLGzGTa

Teasers

Lament of the Fallen teaser 2 Lament of the Fallen teaser 3

Lament of the Fallen teaser 1 Lament of the Fallen teaser 4

free-scroll-clipart-MTLLGzGTa

Wonderfully Done Cover!

Lament of the Fallen by Andy Peloquin cover

free-scroll-clipart-MTLLGzGTa

Tagline/ Elevator Pitch

A faceless, nameless assassin. A forgotten past.  The Hunter of Voramis–a killer devoid of morals, or something else altogether? (The Last Bucelarii–dark fantasy with a look at the underside of human nature)

free-scroll-clipart-MTLLGzGTa

Book Blurb

The Hunter of Voramis is no more.

Alone with the bloodthirsty voices in his head, fleeing the pain of loss, he has one objective; travel North to find her, the mystery woman who plagues his dreams and haunts his memories.

When he stumbles upon a bandit attack, something within urges him to help. His actions set him at odds with the warrior priests commanded to hunt down the Bucelarii.

Left for dead, the Hunter must travel to Malandria to recover his stolen birthright. There, he is inexorably drawn into direct conflict with the Order of Midas, the faceless, nameless group of magicians that holds the city in a grip of terror. All while struggling to silence the ever-louder voice in his mind that drives him to kill.

From feared assassin to wretched outcast, the Hunter’s journey leads him to truths about his forgotten past and the Abiarazi he has pledged to hunt. His discoveries will shed light on who he really is…what he really is.

Fans of Joe Abercrombie, Brandon Sanderson, and Brent Weeks will love the Hunter…

free-scroll-clipart-MTLLGzGTa

Grandma Peachy’s Review

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Honestly, I love this author’s writing. Since I had a gifted electronic copy before release I just started reading the story without even noticing the title. I did see the cover picture and loved it. I read the first book in the series last year and it was among my favorite reads for 2015. The Hunter is a well developed and unique character.  He is Bucelarii, part human, part demon, with an extra long life and few things that can really kill him. Iron is one exception. He left Voramis at the end of book one an unrecognized hero whose purpose there was fulfilled, having rid the city of the demon and the Bloody Hand group that controlled and terrified the city. All at the cost of much destruction within the city and the lives of everyone he had cared about.

In the second book the Hunter starts out at a loss for what to do with himself. He only knows that he needs to move north to find the unknown woman of his visions. Travelling alone he is safe, but, he feels the loss of those whom he had protected and called friends in Voramis, yet failed to save. Loneliness is not a feeling he is used to experiencing. Coming upon travelers who are being ambushed he helps them. The people he helped become his travel companions, although he is vaguely wary and his intuition says he shouldn’t join them. What a mistake! Things go from bad to worse, eventually he is left for dead and there was a point in the book, before actually looking at the title, that I thought to myself, “Oh, how the mighty have fallen.” Shortly after that thought I actually read the title, “Lament of the Fallen…” and had to laugh, what an appropriate title! The Hunter is thwarted at almost every turn in the story. I really felt sorry for him because of his bad luck and the unfortunate series of events that occur. It seems that he can’t win for losing; the situation remains out of his control. I know the Hunter is an assassin and killer subject to blood lust, and I shouldn’t love him so much, but, he does have a conscience from his human side. The constant internal battle between the good that is in him and the evil that tries to take control makes him a very likable protagonist, for a killer.

The Hunter again finds companionship among the poor in the city of Malandria and discovers there is a mystery involving the disappearance of the poorest and most vulnerable in the city. He goes in search of his lost weapons and to discover the mystery surrounding the disappearances. The end was somewhat of a surprise for me because all along I thought another character was the antagonist. The true antagonist was a surprise to me. I have to say that I love this authors writing and look forward to reading many more of the Hunter’s adventures in The Last of the Bucelarii series.

Go to Amazon, get Lament of the Fallen, read it, and enjoy, I sure did! If you haven’t read book one, Blade of the Destroyer read it first. Both are available on Kindle Unlimited and if you aren’t a KU member the purchase price is very reasonable for both the Kindle edition and paperback. Blade of the Destroyer is also available in Audible.

Enjoy!

Grandma Peachy

Links:

https://www.amazon.com/Last-Bucelarii-Book-Lament-Fallen/dp/1535388668

https://www.amazon.com/Andy-Peloquin/e/B00J9008MC

 

scrollwork clipart: http://www.clipartpanda.com/clipart_images/free-cliparts-that-you-can-2773306
Advertisements

About grandmapeachy

I am a retired grandmother and amateur quilter. Generally I do not discuss religion and politics with people other than my family and even then I do more listening than talking. Because I dislike confrontation this blog is a way for me to express opinions that I hold on these and other issues without having to delve into controversial discussions with others who may not agree with me. I am also an avid supporter of indie authors. There are a lot of great books that are not available through traditional publishing and I believe that these stories need to be brought to the attention of the reading public.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s